Get your FREE Lookbox Living E-Magazine!
Download Available Now

Lookbox Magazine

See the winners of the prestigious President’s Design Award 2018

Changi Airport T4 and The Warehouse Hotel are just some recipients that have been honoured for their impact on the living environment.

Text by Asih Jenie

Established in 2006 and jointly organised by the DesignSingapore Council (Dsg) and the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA), the President’s Design Award (PDA) took a bold move last year by revamping its annual format to a biennial cycle. The purpose? To place greater emphasis on outcome-based design impact, in addition to the existing criteria of excellence in design craftsmanship.

Held on 17 July, this year’s gala at the Istana saw President Halimah Yacob presenting the award to two Designer of the Year and nine Design of the Year recipients. The winning eleven entries were picked from a total of 131 eligible entries.

“Singapore has always tapped the power of design to meet many challenges we face as a small island nation. The recipients embody this spirit of transforming and improving lives, businesses, society and even the world through design,” said Dsg Executive Director Mark Wee.

Designer of the Year winners are:

Angelene Chan, CEO of DP Architects 

Angelene Tan
Angelene Chan. Portrait by Juliana Tan, courtesy of DP Architects


Hans Tan, founder of Hans Tan Studio

Hans Tan
Singapore Blue by Hans Tan. Photo by Khoo Guo Jie / Studio Periphery

Chan was awarded the accolade for her work in architecture, and Tan for his work in product and industrial design.

In addition to the eleven award recipients, lighting designer Toh Yah Li, Partner at Light Collab, was commended for her work in lighting design.

Toh Yah Li
Toh Yah Li. Portrait courtesy of Light Collab

Candidates for the Designer of the Year category were evaluated on their design philosophy; innovation and originality; leadership in their disciplines; and portfolio of works that have demonstrated impact on contemporary life and living environment, and have social and national significance as well as a value as icons.

Design of the Year winners are:

Mediacorp Campus by Maki & Associates and DP Architects

Photo by Future Stage Creations


Oasia Hotel Downtown by WOHA Architects

Oasia Downtown
Photo by Patrick Bingham-Hall

China Fuzhou Jin Niu Shan Trans-Urban Connector by LOOK Architects

China Fuzhou Jin Niu Shan Trans-Urban Connector
Photo by Zhou Yue Dong

The Tembusu by ARC Studio Architecture + Urbanism

Photo by Darren Soh

Changi Airport Terminal 4 by Changi Airport Group

(Interior Design, Engineering Design, Systems Design, Experience Design, Product & Industrial Design, Service Design, UX/UI Design, Landscape Design, Design Strategy & Management)

Changi T4
Photo courtesy of Changi Airport T4


The Future of Us Pavilion  by Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD)

(Exhibition Design and Engineering Design)

The Future of Us Pavilion
Photo by Koh Sze Kiat / Oddinary Studios


The Warehouse Hotel by Asylum Creative

(Interior Design and Visual Communication Design)

The Warehouse Hotel
Photo by The Warehouse Hotel


weatherHYDE by billionBricks

(Product & Industrial Design)

Photo by billionBricks

Who Cares? Transforming the Caregiving Experience in Singapore by fuelfor design and consulting

(Design Strategy & Management, Systems Design, Experience Design and Service Design)

Who Cares?
Photo by fuelfor

Candidates for the Design of the Year category were evaluated on the innovation and originality in design ethos; design research; aesthetics and craftsmanship; and impact in one (or more) of these four areas: enabling economic transformation; raising quality of life; advancing Singapore’s brand, culture and community; and ground-breaking design achievements.

Visit PDA’s official page for more information!



Like what you just read? Similar articles below